2 Black Bloggers: Ladies Who Inspired the Build and Balance Blog

I assume that most of you already know this, but just in case I had fooled you into thinking that I’m an experienced blogger, I’m coming clean. I’m brand new to this. Well, not brand new – I started a blog a few months after Hurricane Katrina to share our experiences and work through my emotions, but that was fourteen years ago and I only shared about five or six posts. So while I can’t claim to be brand new, I’m still new enough to say that I don’t quite know what I’m doing yet. I love writing, so for me that’s the easy part. What’s more difficult is finding and retaining an audience of people who will read what I write and who will like it enough to tell others about it. Since I recognize this limitation, which is only a limitation until I learn more and figure out how to reach my people, I’m constantly researching, watching, reading and filtering through information to see what works best. In doing so, I’ve had to remind myself of something that I’ve often told others when speaking about the elderly, dementia, long term care services, and developing a plan for aging. During my speaking engagements I emphasize this fact – you don’t know what you don’t know. That simple statement – you don’t know what you don’t know – applies to everything in life, including the process of becoming a successful blogger and social media influencer. Knowing that much, I gave myself some of my own advice. 

1. Start with what you know. 

2. Find people who have shared your experience. 

3. Pay attention to what they’re doing and see if it’s working for them. 

4. If what they’re doing appears to be working, do what it takes to learn from them so you can replicate their success in your own situation. That could include reading, attending a seminar, taking a class or simply talking to someone who understands your situation and is willing to offer guidance.

5. Whenever possible, acknowledge the people who have helped you, even when they don’t know that you’ve been paying attention and learning from them. 

This post is dedicated to step number five, acknowledging people who have helped me, though I’m certain they have no idea that I’ve been paying close attention. From my perspective, what they’re doing appears to be working so I’ve been visiting their blogs and observing their online presence, watching them be great! They’ve truly inspired me to believe that I can do this, so without further ado, please allow me to introduce you to two Black women bloggers who inspire me to keep going – Dee Hollins, creator of The Nola Chic, and Natalie Tellis Robertson, co-creator of BeFabDaily.

Dee Hollins, The Nola Chic

Dee Hollins was born and raised in New Orleans. She’s my husband’s cousin, who for many years lived in Minnesota and recently returned to her beloved Nola (a local abbreviation for New Orleans, LA). Since returning she has jumped right back into the lifestyle of someone who is native to our beautiful city. In doing so, she shares that lifestyle with the world through her blog, The Nola Chic, and her online presence. She knows her neighbors and they look out for each other. She knows the culture, cooks the food, deals with the humidity and heat and enjoys the celebrations that make our home a world-renowned destination. On top of that she has participated in some of the television programs that are recorded in this area, including Claws and Queen Sugar. Ladies, if you’re wondering, yes, she has met Kofi Siriboe! She has been doing all of this while raising children, readjusting to her new/old home, and suffering tragic loss, yet she just keeps going, determined to be successful. I’m very proud of Dee, not only because she’s family, but because although people doubted her, discouraged her, made fun of her, and even lied about her, she continued to push through, confidant in her own ability to create what she desires for herself and for her family by showing you our Nola.

Natalie Tellis Robertson, Co-creator of BeFabDaily

Natalie Tellis Robertson was born and raised in Washington, DC. We met about a year ago while vacationing with a large family/friend group in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. While there I learned about her fashion blog, BeFabDaily, co-created with her equally fashionable friend, Mel. A lawyer, wife and mother, Natalie, like me, has adjusted to living in the deep south after being raised up north on the east coast. I don’t know what it is about these southern men, but that’s a topic for another blog. One thing that I especially appreciate about BeFabDaily is that it’s a collaboration between Black women. Building an online presence is a daunting task. At least, for me it has been. Having a like-minded partner to share the work seems like a good way to get it done with less stress and more input. I also appreciate that they both acknowledge that people have varying budgets. When they share their favorite fashions, vacation destinations, and beauty tips, they include products and activities at various locations and price points. If off-roading in Cabo San Lucas is not in this year’s budget, try taking a segway tour of Galveston. If the pink blouse you really want is sold out, there are links to similar blouses sold by other retailers. It’s a fun website where I feel like one of my good friends is giving me the scoop on things that I might like to do or wear. 

I am sharing these blogs and introducing you to these ladies because I want you to know something about me. I want you to understand a little more about who I am as an individual. I’m a Black woman, born and raised in the suburbs of Philadelphia, PA and I’ve lived in New Orleans for the majority of my adult life. I’ve been married for nearly 18 years and we have three marvelous children. To be a stay-at-home mom, I paused my career during my mid-twenties until my early thirties, then jump-started it, diving headfirst into long-term care and nursing home administration. Now, in my early forties, I’m shifting gears. I’m not completely changing directions. I’m simply refining the way I plan to reach my goals, which remain the same. This blog is part of that refining process and these ladies, whether or not they know it, are part of this blog. If not for them – for me seeing parts of myself in these Black women with careers, children, and varying life experiences – I might not have had to courage to try this. I don’t know if I would have believed that I could do it. They didn’t give me the supplies or the plans, but by watching what they’ve been building, I’m certain that I can build something too. I believe in giving credit where credit is due and that’s why I’m sharing this with you. Are you watching what other people are building? Has it inspired you to build something of your own?

One thought on “2 Black Bloggers: Ladies Who Inspired the Build and Balance Blog

Leave a comment